Running to Nationals

Posted on Updated on

By: Harley Butler and Eva Dorn, Staff Writers

This season has been phenomenal for the James River track team. This year they have ranked second in the state, passing on their so called “Track Dynasty.” Sophomore Tarrell Branch and  freshman Jeremiah Hill are among the runners that qualified for this year’s meet.

“I’m the only freshman to qualify for indoor and outdoor nationals this year, so it’s really special,” Hill said.

Jeremiah Hill had many successful events this year. Hill is the 400 meter and four by eight relay conference champion for indoor track. Hill attributes some of his success this season to participating in summer track.

“Track has been my life. Coming here it was much harder for me, but it wasn’t anything that I couldn’t handle. My experience doing summer track with older runners helped to prepare me for this,” Hill said.

This season hasn’t been easy for any track runner, but it has been especially hard for Tarell Branch.

“Because of my quad and my hamstring,I couldn’t do as well as I did at regionals. I had to sit out and I couldn’t do triple jump for like four weeks,” Branch said.

However, Branch pushed through all of that and still came out on top.

“When I came back, I got stronger,” Branch said.

Hill and Branch hope to continue their success at Nationals this Summer. Nationals will be held  Friday, June 17th.

DornButler_Track_2
The team celebrates their wins for an indoor meet and Christopher Newport University. Photo Courtesy of Cornell Core.
