Students encouraged to donate to recycled books sale

Posted on

By Cana Wilson, Staff Writer

Belle Cifu has created a book drive for James River students that lasts from now to Monday, December 1st.

Students can drop off gently used books for her Leadership Capstone at the collection bin near the main office. The sale will be held at the Winter Concerts, December 10th and 11th.

Cifu came up with the idea of the used book drive this summer while she was planning her Leadership Capstone, “Rapids Going Green.”

“I was inspired by the Used Book sale my elementary school, Robious Elementary, holds every year, as well as a small lending “Take-One-Leave-One” library that I frequent at the beach over the summer. From both, I’ve learned that there’s something really special about donating a read book to a fellow bookworm and there’s a ton of environmental benefits to reusing old books,” said Cifu.

Cifu enjoys going to used book sales and decided she would do one for our school because she knew they were pretty successful.

“ I think as long as I get the word out, people will support the sale. So far, I haven’t collected as many books/other items as I’d hoped, but there’s still a few more weeks,” said Cifu.

Students can also donate DVD’s, CD’s, puzzles, board games, cards, computer games, comic books. Please donate to this great cause.

